Fibro doesn’t like to be on its own! #fibromyalgia

I was just pondering after putting up the photos I’d taken to reflect what Fibro means to me.  Fibro likes to have friends, it doesn’t like to be on its own, I think it likes something to battle with.  Many of us with Fibro will have other conditions that make the battle with Fibro all the more harder to cope with.  Some are quite minor, some are very variable and others stick like best friends to Fibro.

After mentioning TMD in one of my posts, it was interesting to read others who also experience this.  For me TMD was one of the first symptoms I had.  I didn’t have any muscle, pain or discomfort at the time and I was also running a lot.  I know when I was running I was clenching my jaw quite a lot, so it came as no surprise.  It also didn’t faze me that much because at the time that was all I had to deal with.  I got one of the spongy teeth guards when it turned out I had cracked one of my molars.  That was ok.

But it wasn’t, because then other ‘things’ started to occur.  The next was swelling, pain and numbness in my left hand and arm.  Then neck pain, shoulder pain.  Dry mouth, eyes and skin problems occurred I was then diagnosed with Sjogren’s Syndrome, but not until I’d been to the dental hospital, eye clinic and lastly dermatology.

In the middle of all this Fibro/Chronic Pain was mentioned and due to sleep problems I experience Chronic Fatigue.

Lastly, I have one condition that is not associated with Fibro but for some reason is assumed to be connected and that is Lymphoedema.   Classically with this condition you are not meant to experience pain and yet in my left hand/arm/shoulder where the swelling is I have pain.  The clinic separated this and said that they couldn’t be connected.  So I am no further forward in understanding where this has come from, why it’s around and what I can do about it.  I initially tried some lymphoedema sleeves and although they brought down the swelling I couldn’t continue to wear them because of the pain.

At the moment with the heat, I go to bed with a cool pack from the freezer which I lie my left arm on, as the hotter it gets the more uncomfortable it feels. I paid £40 to have my rings resized, but at least I can now where them again.  I’d been wearing them on my necklace for a while.

So, Fibro, I know you don’t like to be on your own, but I do wish you’d sometimes leave me alone!   Wishful thinking.

Night x

5 comments on “Fibro doesn’t like to be on its own! #fibromyalgia

  1. It seems that fibro can come along after other stressful episodes in our life, such as physical or emotional trauma or illness. This could be what you are talking about. Is there someone you could ask, such as your doctor?

    • Yes, I’ve heard that also and felt that maybe Fibro was almost a reaction to my recovery from long-term mental health difficulties. I fought for years to regain normality, contentment and progression. I did that, I recovered and running formed part of that, then bang. Although I am no-where near back to where I was with my mental difficulties, Fibro has brought about different mental health issues for me but I know they are directly related to Fibro and not from my past. I wanted to start writing about my Fibro as a form of self-therapy and to express my struggles which I know will help me on a daily basis. I see my GP usually about once every 6 months, other than that, I just plod on.

Share with me...

