When no-one else’s standards matter but mine…

It’s fair to say that I’ve had my fair share of frustrations working in mental health and in the Third Sector over the years. I’m not particularly keen on the way the Third Sector is structured, the frustrations surrounding funding, virtually no priority in training and personal development of staff because when funds are tight it’s one of the first things to go.

I believe that the structure, legal entity and vision of a Social Enterprise fit today’s modern world much better. They can have a much better balance of being able to do good for people who need it, while being able to sell services and goods and the money being invested back into the Enterprise. It also creates a much fairer balance for staff too, knowing that they don’t need to solely rely on applying for funding, fundraising and more regular ups and downs of uncertainty.

Latterly as I’ve been studying for my CIPD in Learning and Development it’s opened my eyes even further on the adage that charities’ internal structures, processes and procedures often do not conform to my or CIPD’s standards and best practice. I’ve been fortunate enough to have been able to influence and change many things only for them to be un-done due to internal changes.

So, as I’ve been working from home for myself (with my remaining annual leave) before finally leaving the Third Sector behind in a couple of weeks, I have to admit feeling a huge sigh of relief that I can leave all that behind and move on. I have found the days spent at home relaxing and working to my own standards knowing that they are exactly how I want them to be. I feel less stressed and much more focused. I finally have my business well and truly off the ground and I am 100% in control.

What’s ironic is that my customers will be from the Third Sector, but that’s all they will be, customers. I will continue to work with the very people I have always enjoyed working with but without all the baggage.

Exciting times……..

2 comments on “When no-one else’s standards matter but mine…

  1. Exciting times indeed Catherine! All the best with your new venture which is more of the same but under your own power and guidance. It makes complete sense to be using your experience and skills in a freer way. I agree with you that the social enterprise model is a useful tool and remember looking at it a few years back for Peer Support Fife, shifting it from a vol org.

    I look forward to hearing how your work develops and the learning that you experience as you continue to influence positive change.

    Cheers, Chrys

Share with me...

